You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

In The Blood: A Richly Dark High Fantasy Series Book # 1 (WITCHBREED) by [Martinez, R.L.]
Kindle App Ad

In The Blood: A Richly Dark High Fantasy Series Book # 1 (WITCHBREED) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition, 21 Mar 2016
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 364 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to In The Blood: A Richly Dark High Fantasy Series Book # 1 (WITCHBREED)

Great Reads on Kindle for $1.49
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to $1.49 each. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

A snake. A lion. A return.

In a time when magic is feared, Lady Oriabel Dominax has no choice but to conceal her healing powers while she cares for her father’s struggling estate. One touch of the Witch’s Tree shows her visions of witches hung and burned at the very hands of the people for whom she cares, the people who love her. But with the arrival of a new lord, a man hiding secrets of his own, falling in love might be one wrong move too many.

Incarcerated for an unspeakable crime, fearless warrior Lady Ottilde Dominax is plagued by mysterious dreams of her sister’s death. When a hooded figure offers her the chance of escape, although untrusting, she does not hesitate. Racing across nations to reach Oriabel, her journey is cut short by an encounter with a wedowyn, a formidable beast which she has no chance to overpower alone. Though it is not death that greets her, but something far worse.

Blackmail, betrayal, and murder are only the beginning as a darker magic is awakened. And someone has plans for the Dominax twins, plans more terrifying than anything they could ever imagine.

For fans of THE THRONE OF GLASS and QUEEN OF TEARLING, the WITCHBREED SERIES is an upmarket saga that is "creative and imaginative beyond belief" and has "everything a fantasy lover craves". Not to be missed.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1331 KB
  • Print Length: 364 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Lakewater Press; 1 edition (21 March 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B019X8WCWI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #719,697 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
In the Blood is an onion. You peel one layer away thinking you have it all figured out when you’re faced with another layer, and another, and another.

The characters are complex and surprising and every one of them well written. You won’t mistake one for another; not even identical twins Oriabel and Ottilde. They are all as individual as snowflakes.

The author has gone to great length to ensure her characters fit their ‘character,’ and that the dialogue fits individual characters and the setting -- simple at times yet complex at others. If you opened up at a random page, you’d be able to tell who was speaking. By that I don’t mean which of the characters is speaking, but rather the type of person they are.

Her descriptions are vivid and there is nothing mundane about even the simplest thing. Each word draws you on to the next with inexorable power. Why simply say, “she watched him for a moment or two,” when, "she watched him for a handful of heartbeats," gives you a sense of the moment and you feel what the character is feeling.

In the Blood is more than an epic battle of good versus evil. It’s filled with love and hate, joy and sorrow, fear and anguish, and…good and evil. The good is so very good and the evil…well, the evil is evil with all its subtleties of greed, lust, anger, selfishness and unforgiving revenge.

Book 1 ends exactly where it should end…even if it makes you want to thump the living daylights out of the author for being mean 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I really enjoyed this book. It is a solid 4 stars, original, interesting, and well-paced. While the world built feels, a little too often, like it is built on unstable ground, it is a captivating world nonetheless, filled with great characters that you cannot help but care about. One of my favourite elements is the way Martinez just drops the reader into the end of a conflict and allows us to experience the new reality thus formed alongside her characters.

Ottilde and Oriabel Dominax, identical twin sisters fighting their way back from concurring disasters, enemies and suspect friends on all sides, are great leading characters. The love interests and others that get drawn in their wake (or draw them in theirs), along with these sisters, are the strongest and most engaging part of the book. That said the magical elements and the national behaviours of the kingdoms in this world, also drive a strong narrative voice.

These two factors were so strong that the disruptions I did encounter (suspect character motivation/behaviour, some lapses in internal world-building) were much less disruptive than they might have been. I’m looking forward to reading what happens next to the Dominax twins, and I think this book is definitely worth the read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 17 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love a strong, gripping, clever fantasy - read In the Blood 7 April 2016
By Ms. Laurie J. Bell - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful read.

A thoroughly engrossing epic fantasy about twin sisters whose lives and experiences are as different as they can be.

Ottilde is the solider and Oriabel is the witch. Identical in appearance these two women are worlds apart in experience. R.L. Martinez draws you into this world from the first page. The author has created a spellbound world full of magic and danger, fierce beasts, proud people and warring nations. Magic and fantastical elements are woven into through the story with skill. Each and every character has surprising depths, motivations, strengths and failures. Each sister is surrounded by both friends and enemies with mysterious needs and deadly intentions. Both suffer love and loss, betrayal and heartache in a land where they cannot trust anyone.

Through magic, fear, war and love these two women must risk everything to be true to their own hearts.

I love this world and the characters within. I didn’t want the book to end but when it did… I am now impatiently waiting on book two!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Political intrigue, complex relationships, and romance. Enthralling. 15 August 2016
By Maureen O'Leary Wanket - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I am sorry to say that I have come to the end of In the Blood, as I've so enjoyed returning to its world every day of my reading. The writing is very good, the characters fully rendered and complex. I admit that sometimes the fantasy genre turns me off because I can't keep emotionally invested in arbitrary plot twists and world-building quirks that are disconnected from the story. In the Blood was enthralling throughout, full of political intrigue, complex relationships, and romance as well as the fantastical plot twists the genre is known for. I loved every page of this and will eagerly await whatever comes next from this author. I'm sad to leave these characters and this world. The most fun reading experience I've had in a while.
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book 23 May 2016
By Rebecca carpenter - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Loved this book. Loved it!
Great twist on traditional shape-shifting tales, as well as well-developed characters and a wonderful romance. Highly recommend it!
5.0 out of 5 stars This book really grabbed me from the beginning 3 June 2017
By Book Haunt - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
This book really grabbed me from the beginning. It's not often you start a book with one of the main characters being in prison.

Ottilde Dominax is a warrior for her country, yet a hated prisoner because she killed the prince heir. She lives day to day fearing for her life and hoping for reprieve. When she dreams that her twin sister Oriabel's life is in danger, she must devise an escape plan.

Oriabel Dominax is a healer with the hidden secret of being witchborn. As newcomers descend on Oriabel's village she struggles to keep her witch magic a secret but when a new lord is sent to preside over her family's estate her life hangs in the balance.

Perfect for fans of Juliet Marrillier, this book is magical and spellbinding. A very quick and immensely enjoyable read. I can't wait to read the second installment.

I want to thank the publisher (Lakewater Press) for providing me with the ARC through Netgalley for an honest review.
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a series! 19 May 2017
By Chris - Published on Amazon.com
I received In The Blood from GoodReads in return for an honest review.

I recently read a review that, somewhat unfavorably, compared In The Blood to Robin Hobb's Assassin's Apprentice trilogy. While I feel that the comparison is apt, I completely disagree that it should be seen in an unfavorable light. Granted, Hobb's work has grown by leaps and bounds since her Apprentice series but it set the stage for one of Fantasy's greatest world builder. Martinez, in my opinion, has accomplished a similar feat.

Martinez's character/world building comes along at a steady, but not rote, pace. She manages to successfully provide enough of a past to flesh out the main characters while not using "information dumps" to overwhelm the reader. Secondary characters, for the most part, were a little thin, but I would hesitate to have the author flesh them out for fear of becoming distracted from the core story. The story was fairly tight, even while jumping between the twin main characters who were on opposite sides of the world. I was a bit disappointed in how quickly and easily two of the main character's most guarded secrets came out. I felt it was a bit rushed and took away from a potential major conflict in the story.

All in all, In The Blood is an excellent introduction into Martinez's world. I very much look forward to seeing the conclusion of this storyline!