You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: $23.95
Kindle Price: $13.29

Save $10.66 (45%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Blood Moon (Peninsula Crimes) by [Disher, Garry]
Kindle App Ad

Blood Moon (Peninsula Crimes) Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$13.29

Length: 384 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Winter Sale
Save up to 70% on over 250 Kindle Books. Sale ends 27 August 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

When hordes of eighteen-year-olds descend on the Peninsula to celebrate the end of exams, the overstretched police of Waterloo know they can expect party drugs and public drunkenness.

What they don't count on is a brutal bashing that turns political. The victim is connected. And for Detective Inspector Hal Challis, newly embarked on a relationship with his sergeant, Ellen Destry, this is not the best time to have the brass on his back. Especially when a bludgeoned corpse is found outside town and it becomes clear something much darker than adolescent craziness is going down.

Garry Disher has published almost fifty titles—fiction, children's books, anthologies, textbooks, the Wyatt thrillers and the Peninsula Crimes series. He has won numerous awards, including the German Crime Prize (twice) and two Ned Kelly Best Crime novel awards, for Chain of Evidence (2007) and Wyatt (2010). Garry lives on Victoria's Mornington Peninsula.

'Blood Moon is a fine example of just how good crime writing can be.' Australian

'Disher's skilful writing grabs the reader's attention within the first pages ad doesn't let go until the book reaches its very satisfying conclusion...well written, thought provoking and gripping, will appeal to readers of Ian Rankin and Michael Robotham.' Australian Bookseller and Publisher

'A thoroughly enjoyable novel and mystery that is easily the equal of those by John Harvey, Ian Rankin and other leaders of this form of crime-writing.' Canberra Times

'Blood Moon is entertaining and stimulating...it leaves the reader wanting more of Disher's plotting skill, and wondering about the next twist in the complex relationship between Challis and Destry...' Australian Book Review

'DI Challis and his sergeant Ellen Destry...are both deftly, yet complexly drawn characters: two of the best in the genre and Disher easily one of the best writers.' NZ Weekend Herald

'With so many exhibitionist forensic experts showing off their extraordinary skills, it's a rare pleasure to sit down to a traditional detective story in which solid police work solves a crime.' New York Times

'[a] superior police procedural...' Publishers Weekly


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2154 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Text Publishing (16 May 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005651QD4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #64,461 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.com.au.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 18 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never a dull page 8 October 2009
By Patto - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Most mystery writers are content to solve one case per story, but Garry Disher has successfully juggled several crimes and perpetrators in this book.

There's the chaplain of an exclusive boarding school found beaten to a pulp. Almost everyone at the school loathed him.

There's the murder of a lovely young woman who has the difficult job of enforcing land use regulations. Her husband is abusive, her boss is slimy, and she's not popular with the rich folks who violate the law to build their dream mansions. Anyone might have killed her or had her killed.

Then there's Schoolies week, a term that reminds us we're in Australia. School kids on holiday are flooding the town of Waterloo for a bit of fun by the sea. Drug-related crimes and rape are likely, if not inevitable.

The title of this book is inspired by the eclipse of the moon that will take place during Schoolies week, staining the moon red and, it's feared, inflaming the students.

In the midst of so much criminal anger and passion, the passions of the police force are very much in evidence too. Inspector Hal Challis is sleeping with his sergeant Ellen Destry, and certain members of his staff are in bed together as well. The mix of private lives and public duty is very skillfully handled and makes for a complex story with never a dull page.

I'd recommend all the other books in the series and suggest reading them in order. But this book can also stand on its own. Disher does a good job of summarizing previous events in the lives of the characters.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over, Lee Child and Donna Leon 25 June 2009
By Harley - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Get all five of these books - you'll end up on pins and needles waiting for the sixth one, just as you do if you read Donna Leon and Lee Child. I know - they are hard acts to follow, but Gary Disher is THAT good. Great characters, convincing sense of place, and really intricate but easy-to-follow plots. It is preferable to start with the first because the development of the relationships between characters is too good to miss. And each book has some very surprising plot twists that are entirely believable but totally unexpected. Don't waste time and energy thinking you know what will happen next! Wonderful books!
4.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read 12 January 2015
By Christine C - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I have only recently discovered Garry Disher's books and each one is better than the last. The characters are developed greatly through this story which describes the seaside towns of Australia and the Mornington Peninsula perfectly.
Blood Moon has me reaching for the next in this great series
5.0 out of 5 stars I love these mysteries 23 August 2015
By Honeysuckle - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love these mysteries. I love mysteries from other countries. Its like watching local TV when you travel. You really get an idea of what the place is like. And I like the characters.
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Austrailian police procedural in the style of Ed McBain 18 June 2014
By David Malmberg - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Garry Disher is a tremendous mystery writer. The book is filled with twists and turns. There are several different stories to keep you turning pages. All of the stories come together in the last few pages. A great read!

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?