$27.47
  • + $3.90 Delivery
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon US.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$80.55
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Books Mela Aus
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Beware the Wild: 1 Hardcover – 21 October 2014

4.5 out of 5 stars 34 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover, 21 October 2014
$27.47
$27.47
Arrives: 13 - 15 Oct
Fastest delivery: 29 Sep - 1 Oct
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
click to open popover

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • Hardcover : 330 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0062241524
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0062241528
  • Product Dimensions : 13.97 x 2.77 x 20.96 cm
  • Publisher : Harperteen (21 October 2014)
  • Reading level : 13 and up
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34 ratings

Product description

Review

"Parker has a nice touch with the Southern flavor of Sterling's Louisiana town, steeped in superstition and silence...This engaging debut should enjoy a wide audience."--Kirkus Reviews

"Parker's assured debut is a creepy southern fairy tale...[with] deeply sympathetic, expressive characters. This vivid swamp magic tale will appeal especially to fans of Brenna Yovanoff and Franny Billingsley."--Booklist

"Brimming with mystery, passion, and dark enchantments, BEWARE THE WILD is Southern Gothic at its most beguiling."--Sonia Gensler, author of The Revenant and The Dark Between Sonia Gensler, author of The Revenant and The Dark Between Sonia Gensler, author of The Revenant and The Dark Between

"Parker hits all the right notes here, from the oppressively hot but chillingly creepy atmosphere to the slow-burn pacing to the cast of eccentric but believable characters. Fans of Yovanoff's Fiendish and Quinn's Another Little Piece will delight in this folklore- inspired Southern gothic."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"A creepy, atmospheric book that will draw readers in...Beware the Wild breathes new life into the teen supernatural genre."--School Library Journal

"Creepily delicious swamp magic. I loved BEWARE THE WILD something wicked."--Amy Plum, internationally bestselling author of the Revenant trilogy

"This book, much like its dark and enticing swamp, seeps into your soul. And that is a very, very good thing."--Tara Hudson, author of the Hereafter series

"Unique, haunting, and filled with characters who steal your heart, you'll be just as intrigued by the rural, small-town world that Parker builds as you will by the magic she weaves in the dark of the wild."--Josephine Angelini, internationally bestselling author of the Starcrossed trilogy

From the Back Cover

There's something about the swamp in Sticks, Louisiana. Something different, something haunting . . . something alive. Everyone knows this, and everyone avoids going near it. And even the Mardi Gras-bead-decorated fence that surrounds it keeps people away.

Until one morning when Sterling Saucier's older brother, Phineas, runs into the swamp . . .

And doesn't return.

Instead, a girl named Lenora May climbs out in his place, and all of a sudden, no one in Sticks remembers Phin at all. They treat Lenora May as if she's been Sterling's sister forever.

Sterling needs to figure out what the swamp's done with her beloved brother and how Lenora May is connected to his disappearance--but first she's got to find someone who believes her.

Heath Durham might be that someone. A loner shrouded behind rumors of drug addiction, Heath has had his own strange experience with the swamp. He and Sterling will have to piece together enough bits of memory and ancient swamp lore to get to the truth. But as the wild swamp encroaches on their town, Sterling and Heath may find a lot more than they expected . . . and Phin may be lost to them forever.

--Booklist