You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $6.49
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel by [Sullivan, Mark]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 133 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.49

Length: 525 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Find your next great read with Kindle Unlimited
Check out Cosy Winter Fiction reads, Cookery and more with this month's featured titles, now available to read for $0.00. Browse this month's selection.

From the Editor

What makes a hero? If you are Pino Lella, the protagonist in Mark Sullivan’s riveting Second World War thriller, you risk everything to save as many souls as you can by sneaking them over the Swiss Alps to safety. You put yourself in harm’s way, enlisting as a German soldier and becoming an Allied spy inside the German High Command. And you forgo the life you thought you’d have to do whatever you can to stop the madness.

It’s not often I get to publish true stories, especially ones that have been crafted into page-turning fiction. But after I picked up Beneath a Scarlet Sky and read into the wee hours, I was absorbed and amazed by the story of Italy’s Pino Lella, an unsung hero of the Second World War, and felt compelled to publish this one. The tale of a man pushed headlong into the horrors of war at the tender age of seventeen is timeless and inspiring.

I’m not sure I would ever be as brave as Pino, and I’m so honoured to share his story with you. But ultimately my feelings are superseded by my hope that Beneath a Scarlet Sky will be a ‘stay up all night to read’ book that you will not soon forget.

- Danielle Marshall, Editor


Product description

Product Description

Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland.

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

About the Author

Mark Sullivan is the acclaimed author of eighteen novels, including the #1 New York Times bestselling Private series, which he writes with James Patterson. Mark has received numerous awards for his writing, including the WHSmith Fresh Talent Award, and his works have been named a New York Times Notable Book and a Los Angeles Times Best Book of the Year. He grew up in Medfield, Massachusetts, and graduated from Hamilton College with a BA in English before working as a volunteer in the Peace Corps in Niger, West Africa. Upon his return to the United States, he earned a graduate degree from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University and began a career in investigative journalism. An avid skier and adventurer, he lives with his wife in Bozeman, Montana, where he remains grateful for the miracle of every moment.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2002 KB
  • Print Length: 525 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1503943372
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (1 May 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01L1CEZ6K
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 133 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,533 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

133 customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 133 reviews

6 July 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
5 May 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWER
17 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
12 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
29 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
16 May 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?