Kindle Price: $11.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Before We Were Yours - a poignant, family story and New York Times bestseller by [Wingate, Lisa]
Kindle App Ad

Before We Were Yours - a poignant, family story and New York Times bestseller Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.99

Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Daily Deal: Save at least 70%
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price - for that day only. See today's deal or sign up for the newsletter

Product description

Review

"A [story] of a family lost and found . . . A poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets."--People

"Before We Were Yours is sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . [Lisa] Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you'll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann's legacy."--Parade

"One of the year's best books . . . It is almost a cliché to say a book is 'lovingly written' but that phrase applies clearly to Lisa Wingate's latest novel, Before We Were Yours. This story about children taken from their parents through kidnapping or subterfuge and then placed for adoption, for a price, clearly pours out of Wingate's heart. . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel. It invades your heart from the very first pages and stays there long after the book is finished. Few novelists could strike the balance this story requires but Wingate does it with assurance. There are a lot of books that will catch your eye this summer, some from our best storytellers. Make sure this one is on your radar. It should not be missed."--The Huffington Post

"[An] affecting new novel."--The New York Post

"Every now and then a novel comes along that sweeps me off my reading feet. Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate, is such a book. . . . It's a great book-club read, one of those books that teaches you something, gives you lots to discuss and even more to think about. . . . Take note: This may be the best book of the year."--Shreveport Times

"This story is heartfelt and genuine, especially as Wingate explores the idea of home and family from a youngster's point of view."--Historical Novels Review

"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power. That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children's Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river gypsy Rill Foss. Rill's utterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned, as will Wingate's courage to follow her anywhere. . . . Vivid and affecting."--Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun

"A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I'm still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls."--Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Product Description

A compelling, harrowing and utterly redemptive novel that reveals a family torn apart by a shocking betrayal. Based on real-life events of kidnap, illegal adoption and a corrupt orphanage, the fictional narrative brings alive deeply researched real-life events in the manner of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington.

The multi-week USA TODAY and New York Times BESTSELLER!

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiancé waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.

But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she's never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about May's life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation…or redemption.

Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 735 KB
  • Print Length: 614 pages
  • Publisher: Mira (1 June 2017)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06VSKNPGJ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 45 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #766 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 45 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

31 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
11 June 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
8 November 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
14 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
21 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
4 February 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
27 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
23 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews


Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?