Buy new:
$47.50
RRP: $65.00 Details

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $17.50 (27%)
FREE delivery: 9 - 15 July
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Book Depository UK
Sold by Book Depository UK
Ships from
Book Depository UK
Other Sellers on Amazon
$47.50
& FREE Delivery. Details
Sold by: Amazon AU
Sold by: Amazon AU
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, & Moonage Daydreams (OGN biography of Ziggy Stardust, gift for Bowie fan, gift for music lover, Neil Gaiman, Michael Allred) Hardcover – 7 January 2020

4.9 out of 5 stars 643 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
$47.50
$46.88

Enhance your purchase

Noise: The new book from the authors of ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ out now.
Order your copy today. Click to explore.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, & Moonage Daydreams (OGN biography of Ziggy Stardust, gift for Bowie fan, gift for music lover, Nei
  • +
  • Paul is Dead
  • +
  • The Golden Age, Book 1
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Noise: The new book from the authors of ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ out now.
Order your copy today. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Insight Comics (7 January 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 160 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1683834488
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1683834489
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 21.59 x 1.78 x 28.58 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.9 out of 5 stars 643 ratings

Product description

Review

"This tribute is a ravishing spectacle"  ― Publishers Weekly

"BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams is an absolute dream come true... there have been other books that meld comics with rock and roll. None of them, though, have done it so seamlessly and so attractively as BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams does. For fans of David Bowie, Mike Allred, rock and roll, comics and art, this is a must-have purchase."

  -- Andy Burns, BiffBamPop.com

"So, does it live up to the hype? Yes, and more so!...This is the best I’ve seen out of the Allreds, as they surpassed an already incredibly high bar. Pick up the book, put on some David Bowie on your listening device of choice, and let Major Tom and Ground Control bring you on a journey! 10/10" -- Olivier Roth, ComicsTheGathering.com

"David Bowie, perhaps more than any other figure in Rock music, translates almost flawlessly into a comic book narrative. Not just his life as a performer, but his life as a person....Visually, Allred’s contribution is a tour de force, this is the story he has been waiting years to tell and the payoff is worth the wait...this book is much more than the sum of its amazing parts. While I am admittedly a huge Bowie fan myself, I found this book to be enjoyable beyond my own adoration of the man and his music." -- Shawn Warner, ComicCrusaders.com

 

"I was thrilled and honored to receive an advance copy of BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams. I had no idea what to expect. Being a superfan, I jealously believed that no one could love Bowie like I, that no one knows his songs and lyrics like I do. Ha! This book sure proves me wrong! It was so fun to be taken on a trip through Bowie’s humble beginnings to his super stardom. The images are so gorgeous. It was especially fun to recognize what the drawings mean and what songs the lyric quotes come from. I have A LOT of books about David Bowie. This one is extra special indeed." 

  -- Jane Weidlin, The Go-Gos

"Allred & Company have created a Bowie biography that's as colorful as his persona, as deep and varied as his music, and as cosmic as his life." -- Patton Oswalt

Mike Allred and David Bowie are a match made in glam heaven, so much so that BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, & Moonage Daydreams feels like the product of a kind of cosmic spontaneous generation, but I know better. I know about the painstaking work Mike, Steve, and Laura put into crafting this magnificent union of sound and vision. It's more than a tribute, more than a biography; it's a signal straight from outer space beamed to Bowie fans of today, and more importantly, tomorrow. 

  -- Phillip Hester (Mythic, Deep Sleeper)

This book is innovative, provocative and endlessly compelling, just like the legend himself.  Steve Horton and Mike and Laura Allred have done a sensational job bringing Bowie and the transformative energy of his music to life. -- Devin Grayson (Marvel Rising; Nightwing, Huntress)

If you are a Bowie fanatic and love Mike and Laura Allred’s art, then you are in for a visual treat down memory lane as we follow the career of David Bowie and his many alter egos. This book is a visually lush account of one of the most eclectic superstars of our times presented beautifully by Steve Horton and the Allreds. Every single page is informative and poster worthy.  -- Jimmy Palmiotti (Harley Quinn)

BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, & Moonage Daydreams is a gem, a stunning accomplishment that pushes the boundaries of the graphic novel medium, much as Bowie himself pushed the boundaries of music, fashion and culture. -- Russell Lissau (Old Wounds, The Batman Strikes!)

BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, & Moonage Daydreams is everything you would expect from a book about the chameleon of rock: Bold, inventive, fascinating! Steve Horton, Mike and Laura Allred captured the essence of David Bowie like no one else did before.

  -- Mike Deodato (Wonder Woman, Infinity Wars)

Mike Allred was born to draw David Bowie. The art is so groovy and fantastic, it’s hard to pull yourself away. Through the story, Steve Horton and Allred take you on a magical journey where you almost believe you are looking in on Bowie’s life as it’s occurring. Any Bowie fan will treasure this, and anyone who doesn’t know of Bowie will be a fan after reading this. -- Christy Blanch (Tales from the Crypt)

"Bravo for BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, & Moonage Daydreams! Horton & the Allreds have captured David Bowie's early years with all the color and spectacle of the period. It is every bit as wondrous as his music, and that amazing epilogue will leave you wanting more. Encore! Encore!"   -- Roger Stern (The Death and Life of Superman)

"Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams is a wonderful love letter to the pop prince that touches on and ponders what made him such a unique, inspirational artistic force. This masterfully orchestrated graphic novel — filled with some of the best art I’ve seen all year" ― ComicsBeat.com

"This is a book that is best paired with Bowie’s actual music, and since it can’t reprint the lyrics, that’s up to us to provide. Put on your favorite couple of Bowie records (I’d suggest period appropriate ones) and marvel at the visual feast that is this graphic novel. And then buy a second copy so they can do a sequel."  ― Multiversity Comics

"Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams is a triumph for Bowie fans and music history lovers everywhere. People who grew up watching Bowie take on the world will wax nostalgic and learn new bits of trivia, and people who latched onto Bowie after the prime of his career will learn all of the amazing ways he crossed paths with movers and shakers of the ’70s and ’80s and ultimately influenced generations of musicians to come. "

  ― Rogues Portal

"It might be impossible to pick up 'Bowie' and not be cooler when you put it back down." ― DoomRocket

About the Author

Steve Horton is the writer of the critically acclaimed Satellite Falling, which award-winning comics writer Jimmy Palmiotti called his "new favorite book." Horton has worked for a number of comic book publishers, including DC, Image, Dark Horse and IDW.

Laura Allred is an Eisner-winning colorist. In 2012 she won an Eisner Award for her work coloring iZombie and Madman after two previous nominations, in 1998 for Red Rocket 7 and in 2000 for Madman and Happydale in 2000.

Neil Gaiman is a New York Times best-selling author whose work has won countless awards. He is world-renowned for his works, including Sandman, Coraline, American Gods, and Anansi Boys. Recently, Gaiman wrote a critically acclaimed TV miniseries Good Omens.

From the Publisher

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
643 global ratings
5 star
91%
4 star
7%
3 star
1%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 29 April 2021

Top reviews from other countries

Andrew Buckle
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful volume
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 February 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
snoopystar
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb for Bowie fans.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 February 2020
Verified Purchase
James E Williams. U.K
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Book History of David Bowie
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Book History of David Bowie
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 February 2021
A Christmas present for my wife, I'm sure l will read it also as l am a big fan of the comics of Mike Allred, and this is just wonderful, you can tell he's a real Bowie fan, all the details and facts and amazing.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
Michael O'Brien
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Favourites in one Bowie and graphic novels.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Stewart Gee
5.0 out of 5 stars For all Bowie nuts...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 March 2020
Verified Purchase