You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $0.99
includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Assyrian Contraband: A Benevolent Series Prequel Novella by [Bailey, Aiden L]
Kindle App Ad

The Assyrian Contraband: A Benevolent Series Prequel Novella Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$0.99

Length: 104 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Daily Deal: Save at least 70%
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price - for that day only. See today's deal or sign up for the newsletter

Product description

Product Description

“Mr. Bailey’s plots are layered and complex, but like all great writers, he makes it seem effortless. Fans of thrillers should do themselves a favor and check out his work ASAP!” – ANDREW WARREN author of TOKYO BLACK and RED PHOENIX

Simon Ashcroft faces death at the hands of terrorists in the shark-infested oceans of Africa.

In this thrilling prequel to The Benevolent Deception, a young woman vanishes quietly from the busy streets of Durban, South Africa. Her body cannot be found and no suspects are identified by local police. She soon becomes just another nameless victim of the daily murder crimes plaguing South Africa.

A grief stricken week later, her devastated father receives a mysterious phone call, offering hope that his daughter lives. She’s a hostage on the island nation of Comoros and the caller demands a vast sum of money in exchange for her.

Discretely engaged by the father, Simon Ashcroft, a former intelligence officer turned security expert, soon discovers the rescue mission he is leading is anything but straightforward. Confronting an army of murderous thugs and a bloody trail of bodies, Simon quickly realizes there is more to this mystery than a simple kidnapping.

Coming head to head with the ruthless financier of a global terrorist organization, a man who will destroy anyone threatening the illicit cash pipeline that funds the world’s cruelest and most barbaric ideology, Simon prepares to do battle with the, so called, Islamic State.

Fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Mark Dawson, Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancy, Matthew Reilly, Wilbur Smith, Desmond Bagley, Ian Fleming, Clive Cussler, Tony Park and James Phelan, will be gripped by this exciting new thriller.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1442 KB
  • Print Length: 104 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071FC8C1G
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #87,834 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Wow, what a great story. This is my second Aiden L Bailey book, and I have thoroughly enjoyed both of them. Simon Ashcroft is a great tough guy character, and I’ve really enjoyed how versatile he is, and the situations he finds himself in. The Author certainly know how to write attention grabbing Action Thrillers, that are both Interesting and entertaining. When Adriana Venter is snatched off the streets of Durban, Simon’s boss tasks him with getting her back. South Africa isn’t always the safest place in the world for a rich person to be driving around, so it’s not an unusual thing to happen. Of course Simon thinks there’s a bit more to this than just a random kidnapping. Meinke insisted on going with Simon to Comoros to hopefully find her sister, but at some point Simon knew it could certainly get dangerous. Simon it used to the violence and killing people if need be, and he there is no doubt he will experience both in trying to get Adriana back. This is without a doubt a great story, and is well worth a read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This novella is a real treat, effortlessly blending tropian locations, interesting characters and breathless action into a Cocktail, which rivals Ian Fleming at very the top of his game! Highly recommended for fans of action-packed spy thrillers and fast moving plot twists from the likes of Clancy, Flynn and Thor!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Prequel 4 June 2017
By HornFan2 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I received a free advance copy, from the author for my honest review.

This was my first read from author Aiden L. Bailey, did like the read, like his character Simon Ashcroft and will keep reading this series.

Simon Ashcroft is a former Intelligence Officer with the Austrailian Secret Intelligence Service (ASIS). He currently works for DevWorld Security, a private Military company based in South Africa. The part of the 'The Assyrian Contraband', was learning new things from the setting being in Johannesburg, South Africa, being in the US wasn't aware how violent it is for women and the Comoros Islands.

It's a quick read about the kidnapping of Adriana Venter, triggered by the trade dealings of her dad Tristan Venter, then the hiring of Simon and being assisted by her sister Meinke Venter. Her father backs out of a deal when he learns he's dealing with ISIS, which resulted in his daughter's kidnapping to make him complete the deal.

The only blemish with the story is how wimpy, he makes the ISIS kidnappers be, the unrealistic attempted killing of Simon being dragged, attached to a Shark in the Indian Ocean. Especially since with the Shark bleeding, it would have attracted other Sharks or Orca's or at least that's what they say during Discovery's Shark week.

It works as a decent prequel to the Benevolent Deception, gives you more background on Simon and definitely can't wait to see were Aiden L. Bailey takes his Simon Ashcroft character.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick read and extremely entertaining 21 May 2017
By D. Shetterly - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book didn't take me long at all to finish. I zipped through it quickly because it was so full of suspense. It not only held my interest but kept me entertained. I had already read "Benevolent Deception" and loved it. This helped fill in some blanks. A few times I was thinking, how is this going to go and I don't want to give any of it away. At one point, I thought there was a gap in the storyline but at the end, it all comes together. I love when authors write this way - keep me guessing until the last minute. While I love books by Tom Clancy and John Grisham, I think Aiden is in their league or better. I actually get more excited about reading his books now than theirs. It does take me a little bit to stay interested in a book, but Aiden Bailey does a great job of holding my interest and captivating my mind. I find it is easy to create the images as I read along. Great job Aiden Bailey... anxiously looking forward to the next book.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, What a Great Story 22 May 2017
By Todd Simpson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
Wow, what a great story. This is my second Aiden L Bailey book, and I have thoroughly enjoyed both of them. Simon Ashcroft is a great tough guy character, and I’ve really enjoyed how versatile he is, and the situations he finds himself in. The Author certainly know how to write attention grabbing Action Thrillers, that are both Interesting and entertaining. When Adriana Venter is snatched off the streets of Durban, Simon’s boss tasks him with getting her back. South Africa isn’t always the safest place in the world for a rich person to be driving around, so it’s not an unusual thing to happen. Of course Simon thinks there’s a bit more to this than just a random kidnapping. Meinke insisted on going with Simon to Comoros to hopefully find her sister, but at some point Simon knew it could certainly get dangerous. Simon it used to the violence and killing people if need be, and he there is no doubt he will experience both in trying to get Adriana back. This is without a doubt a great story, and is well worth a read.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pearl from one of the most innovative, thrilling and competent writers of the genre! 22 May 2017
By Thrawn95 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
This novella is a real treat, effortlessly blending tropian locations, interesting characters and breathless action into a Cocktail, which rivals Ian Fleming at very the top of his game! Highly recommended for fans of action-packed spy thrillers and fast moving plot twists from the likes of Clancy, Flynn and Thor!