$12.93 + FREE Delivery
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
$12.93 + FREE Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$17.48
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Add to Cart
$17.51
& Free Delivery on eligible orders See details and conditions
Sold by: Amazon AU
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Achtung Baby: The German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children Paperback – 11 Jan 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$12.93
$12.93
Digital

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Product details


Product description

Review

Zaske details her experience mothering in Germany to present a portrait of German-style parenting that is at once entertaining, surprising, and instructive. With curiosity and insight, she reveals how many of our parenting assumptions stem not from evidence but from insecurity and fear - Kim Brooks, author of The Houseguest and Small Animals, and editor, Salon.com

I was completely drawn into this marvelous account of how Zaske learned to trust her children and allow them the freedoms they craved. It is the story of one family and, at the same time, of childrens' and parents' lives in two huge modern nations. I recommend it to all American parents, educators, policy makers, and others concerned with children's lives and the future of our society - Peter Gray, author of Free to Learn: How Releasing the Instinct to Play Will Make Our Children Happier, More Self-Reliant, and Better Students for Life

This is a beautiful book. Zaske uses her personal experience raising her children in Berlin to reveal the differences - fundamental and trivial, serious and humorous - between German and American parenting, finding lessons in the ways Germans rear their children from birth to adolescence. Zaske probes our cultural differences and mines the hard data to offer us her pungent observations. Her insights deserve our attention - Robert LeVine, author of Do Parents Matter?

Book Description

In the tradition of French Children Don't Throw Food and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, following the Germans' common sense approach

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

11 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 59 reviews
Robin Harrison
2.0 out of 5 starsOnly partially right about parenting in Germany
15 January 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
KRN
3.0 out of 5 starsHoped for More Practical Advice
2 August 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
AlbertoX
5.0 out of 5 starsBringing children up in Germany is about empowering adult human beings
15 January 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
John Wagar
5.0 out of 5 starsGood overview of how communities can help raise kids
16 February 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful