You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $16.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Achtung Baby: The German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children by [Zaske, Sara]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Achtung Baby: The German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$16.99
Digital

Length: 253 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

Part memoir, part an essay on parenting, Zaske's book is furnished with ample statistics and research . . . Zaske is equally perceptive when probing delicate and complicated topics - Times Literary Supplement

Zaske details her experience mothering in Germany to present a portrait of German-style parenting that is at once entertaining, surprising, and instructive. With curiosity and insight, she reveals how many of our parenting assumptions stem not from evidence but from insecurity and fear

I was completely drawn into this marvelous account of how Zaske learned to trust her children and allow them the freedoms they craved. It is the story of one family and, at the same time, of childrens' and parents' lives in two huge modern nations. I recommend it to all American parents, educators, policy makers, and others concerned with children's lives and the future of our society

This is a beautiful book. Zaske uses her personal experience raising her children in Berlin to reveal the differences - fundamental and trivial, serious and humorous - between German and American parenting, finding lessons in the ways Germans rear their children from birth to adolescence. Zaske probes our cultural differences and mines the hard data to offer us her pungent observations. Her insights deserve our attention

Step aside French Children Don't Throw Food and Tiger-Mothering . . . Blending her own family's often funny experiences with interviews with other parents, teachers and experts, Zaske shares some unexpected European parenting lessons - Bookseller

Supported by statistics and research studies, Zaske makes a strong argument that German parenting practices are creating smarter and more productive parents and children alike - Publishers Weekly

An entertaining, informative, and enlightening narrative on the German methods of parenting - Kirkus Reviews

Book Description

In the tradition of French Children Don't Throw Food and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, following the Germans' common sense approach

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 747 KB
  • Print Length: 253 pages
  • Publisher: Piatkus (2 January 2018)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0711RKRT9
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #344,782 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

11 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 59 reviews
Robin Harrison
2.0 out of 5 starsOnly partially right about parenting in Germany
15 January 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
KRN
3.0 out of 5 starsHoped for More Practical Advice
2 August 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
AlbertoX
5.0 out of 5 starsBringing children up in Germany is about empowering adult human beings
15 January 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
John Wagar
5.0 out of 5 starsGood overview of how communities can help raise kids
16 February 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful