You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet Book 4) by [Hunter, Madeline]
Kindle App Ad

The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet Book 4) Kindle Edition

3.2 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Length: 402 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet Book 4)

Kindle Daily Deal: Save at least 70%
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price - for that day only. See today's deal or sign up for the newsletter

Product description

Review

Praise for THE ACCIDENTAL DUCHESS:
"Blackmailed and faced with embarrassment and the suspicion of treason if the draft of her ill-advised, racy adventure novel is made public, unconventional Lady Lydia Alfreton heads to the gaming tables to raise some cash. Sadly, her gambling plan goes awry, and she is forced to call in an old bet with the Duke of Penthurst and recklessly wager (and lose) her virtue. Although the duke doesn't plan to collect, he keeps Lydia guessing. Then Lydia's ill-advised attempt to deal with the blackmailer brings Penthurst to the rescue, compromising them both, and suddenly it's marriage, not simple seduction, that lay ahead. VERDICT A rash, adventure-seeking heroine and an honorable, take-charge hero clash splendidly as passions blaze in this complex story that pairs another marvelously singular couple, brings the bad guys to justice, and cleverly ties up the loose ends...--to the delight of all concerned." --Library Journal

"Fueled by an abundance of subtle wit and potent sensuality, The Accidental Duchess...is another exquisitely crafted love story by one of the romance genre's masters." --Booklist

Praise for the novels of Madeline Hunter
"Another stellar Regency-set historical romance that hits all the literary marks. Hunter's effortlessly elegant writing exudes a wicked sense of wit; her characterization is superbly subtle, and the sexual chemistry she cooks up between her deliciously independent heroine and delightfully sexy hero is pure passion."--Booklist (starred review)
"Intelligent and memorable...As smart and sharp as the best of Regency romances can be. With its tangy dialogue, Pride and Prejudice themes, bits of mystery and nefarious characters, readers may be reminded of Jane Austen."--Romantic Times (Top Pick)
"Hunter's books are so addictive."--Publishers Weekly
"Hunter's flowery centerpiece will suit every romance table. Highly recommended."--Library Journal

Product Description

From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin.  For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn.  
When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldn’t mind fleecing—and she’s confident she’ll win.
Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand pounds—a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.
When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruined—or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1544 KB
  • Print Length: 402 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0515151319
  • Publisher: Berkley (3 June 2014)
  • Sold by: Penguin US
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00EOARZN2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.2 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #199,023 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

3 customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

2 August 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 April 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
16 September 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.1 out of 5 stars 107 reviews
Romantic Heart
1.0 out of 5 starsHated the story; Penthurst deserved a better heroine
27 June 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Cynthia Huffman
2.0 out of 5 starsHuge disappointment from usually top-form author
2 July 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
FrG
5.0 out of 5 starsLoved this! Hooked me on Madeline Hunter
12 January 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
elaine
4.0 out of 5 starsExcellent writing. unlikable heroine
26 June 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful