You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $4.97
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kaya Abaniah and the Father of the Forest by [Trotman, Wayne Gerard]
Kindle App Ad

Kaya Abaniah and the Father of the Forest Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$4.97

Length: 418 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Language: English

Kindle Daily Deal: Save at least 70%
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price - for that day only. See today's deal or sign up for the newsletter

Product description

Product Description

Legends are immortal dreams made flesh…

Kaya Abaniah believes he’s an ordinary fourteen-year-old college student. He lives with his mother on the Caribbean island of Trinidad; he’s passionate about wildlife conservation and has a crush on the prettiest girl in his class.

However, one fateful day, Kaya’s life is changed forever when he encounters Papa Bois, a folklore character similar to the Greek god, Pan.

Kaya learns he has the talent. He’s a telepath, and he’s not alone. He discovers that men in black are constantly watching him, Soucouyant, the shape-shifting vampire wants his blood, and his packed lunch is never safe.

Will Kaya succeed in protecting his relatives and friends from the supernatural evils that lurk on the tropic isle? Can he reveal the shape-shifter’s secret identity? And, why on Earth is the most gorgeous girl, he’s ever known, so interested in him?

Follow Kaya’s struggles with love, rivalry, and academic life, as he confronts the terrifying creatures of Trinidad and Tobago’s folklore, and unlocks the shocking mystery of Papa Bois, the father of the forest.

About Kaya Abaniah and the Father of the Forest:
Kaya Abaniah (Kah-yuh Abba-na-yuh) is a boy's name. Kaya Abaniah and the Father of the Forest is a unique story, set in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. In this two-island Caribbean nation, inhabited primarily by people of African and Indian descent, Trinidadian English is the official spoken language, and Standard English is the official written language. However, Kaya speaks authentic Trinidadian Creole, which is similar, but distinct from Tobagonian Creole. Trinbagonians (Trinidadians and Tobagonians) use Creole in spontaneous conversation, while Trinidadian English is often reserved for more formal speech. Various combinations of English, Trinidadian English, and Creole are not uncommon.

About the Author:
Wayne Gerard Trotman is a Trinidadian British writer, blogger, filmmaker, artist, photographer, composer and producer of electronic music. Born in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Trotman immigrated to England in 1984, where he lives with his wife and two sons.

"The author takes a medley of science fiction tropes, from aliens and spaceships to telepathy and artificial intelligence and creates an epic, universe-building tale."

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3380 KB
  • Print Length: 418 pages
  • Publisher: Red Moon Productions Ltd. (31 January 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00T1DFTL2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #749,966 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.com.au.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 8 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly enjoyable read. 2 July 2016
By Sean Mungal - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Only Wayne Trotman can take you back to those good old school days, a teenage crush, lure you into a conservationist dream through the wonderful tropical forest of a Caribbean island and then engage you in an intergalactic battle, all in the same chapter. To top it off this wonderfully written novel unfolds against the back drop of some of the Caribbean's favorite folklore characters. It's a well spun tale with colorful and mouthwatering descriptiveness that has you tasting Aunt Josephine's delicious local dishes.I honestly could not put this book down. And even if you are not a science fiction buff any one who appreciates a good story will enjoy this novel. Wayne has done a superb job. A truly enjoyable read.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings Fantasy into Reality 10 February 2015
By Cayce Hrivnak - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
There is so much I can tell you about this book. The bad thing is, though, I would be spoiling it. So I'll sum up everything.

I am not used to books being filled with extensive material on a country or culture, period. These days, authors skim over those important details to engage the reader instead of take the time in their story to teach them new facts about a foreign country you've probably never been too nor thought of visiting. This book taught me a lot about the country and culture in the two island Caribbean nation of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Anyways this is the story about fourteen year old Kaya (Hezekiah) Abaniah who lives with his single mother Josephine. He goes to college which is different considering he is only fourteen but I would assume it is just like high school. At face value, he is an ordinary boy until he starts hearing a voice in his head, guiding him which leads him to saving his crush, Raima Kahn, from drowning. After that, he began to experience sudden changes like telepathy and the ability to have control over animals.

This books keep you drawn in, wanting more and more to the very end. I recommend it for young adults, teenagers, and also adults who are interested in reading something original and new instead of rehashed story lines. This one is fantastic and you will not be disappointed.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Legends 14 March 2015
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I liked this novel from the start, and for a number of reasons. When I taught summer school in Jamaica for more than ten seasons, I looked everywhere for books such as Kaya Abaniah, and couldn't find very many, if any. The reason? People are generally reluctant to say more than a few words about the old stories told by granny & c. Some think they're quaint, cute or merely aphoristic, good for a couple of laughs. But to find a serious work like Kaya Abaniah, you really had to look far and wide. So here is the bottom line on this excellent book for young readers -- it is the real thing. If you like the idea of Papa Bois, the Father of the Forest and you actually believe such a thing could be true, or perhaps was true, historically, during a time when mythologies were the sacred history of a people, then this novel is for you. It is not a fantasy, nor is it written like one. While you are following the storytline, you may also pick up a lot of useful information about the culture of Trinidad and Tobago. For instance, I have had sorrel wine but I did not know that it was as old as ancient Egypt. Mr. Trotman explains that it comes from hibiscus and is good for "the pressure", as they say in Jamaica. Bob Marley said, "Everything has a season, find its reason." And that's what this excellent novel does -- it tells you the reason behind things. Did you know that the Father of the Forest was yet another incarnation of the Greek god Pan? Maybe you did, but did you know that Pan and the word "panic" are brethren? Makes sense, doesn't it. When magic is explored, not as delirious mayhem, but as a kind of "science", it is so-called black magic. But, I believe, we need more magic of all kinds today, especially the kind Wayne Gerard Trotman offers in this novel of myths and legends that come across as probable and true.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trotman's Talent Lies in His Descriptive Word Choice 12 July 2015
By Melissa Reese Etheridge - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Kaya Abaniah and the Father of the Forest by Wayne Gerard Trotman delves into several themes of friendship, family, bullying, and wildlife conservation. Kaya Abaniah is a typical fourteen-year-old boy. He and his mother live on the island of Trinidad. Kaya attends a local school where is close friends with Tom and Raima. He has frequent run-ins with a group of bullies. All is as it should be until strange things begin to happen. The strange things occur when Kaya is ill with a fever and hears a man tell him to watch his food and what he eats. Then Kaya can read minds and perform tasks with above normal ability. Kaya, Tom, and Raima encounter danger on a school trip and meet who they believe is Papa Bois, the father of the forest. Kaya learns his own father’s identity and becomes a student of a group of characters from Trinidadian mythology.

Trotman, a native of Trinidad, brings his personal knowledge of Trinidadian culture to the book. The novel explores the animals, food, and religion of the island in great detail. Trotman relies on his experiences to create likeable characters who grow as the plot progresses. The reader learns a great deal about Trinidad, its animals, and food and culture in great detail.

The ideas and themes of the story are very focused and well-developed. The organization is easy to follow. Trotman’s real talent is in descriptive word choice. The story navigates between Standard English and Trinidad Creole. The dialogue moves the plot forward.

The novel is intended for young adults; I recommend high school as there are violence and some suggestion of typical high school flirtations and sexual innuendoes. The Creole dialect and slang do require close reading to understand the characters. I read the book in about five hours. My verdict? Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love this original story steeped in tradition and culture.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A descriptive adventure in the Caribbean! 18 July 2015
By Melanie - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A great fantasy that doesn't talk down to readers. The story takes place in the real world, and slowly shifts gears to the fantastical happenings. Kaya is a young boy living in the Caribbean (quite a different setting) and you slowly become immersed in another culture as you get to know his magical story. This isn't a short/quicky light read, but one written with rich descriptive depth.

Like old school fantasy, the writing is florid and full of sensuous detail of a world and culture that I have never visited. I appreciated the easy to use glossary in the back.